The Luckiest Bride

cropped-image.jpg

image

In the Name of God

I took him to be my husband
To have and to hold
from that day forward
for better or for worse
for richer or for poorer
in sickness and in health
to love and to cherish
‘Til death do us part

I was the luckiest bride to have the ideal husband who loved me so dearly.
I was the luckiest bride to be provided by my needs without even working for it.
I was the luckiest bride to have three loving children who loveΒ him as much as I did
I was the luckiest bride that my husband was also my driver to make me feel safe
I was the luckiest bride that I would be ready to satisfy your pleasure anytime he wanted
I was the luckiest bride that my friends were all so jealous of me for being the luckiest bride
I kept saying that I was the luckiest bride because he told me that I was the luckiest bride

 

I was the luckiest bride that I never learned how to drive when I wanted to
I was the luckiest bride that I gave up my dreams because he told me so
I was the luckiest bride that I never see my friends whenever he can’t drive me to their place
I was the luckiest bride, I kept making myself believe because was I?

 

Was I the luckiest bride when he underestimated every power that I have when I wanted to try?
Was I the luckiest bride when I became a maid when I finished a degree in order to become a doctor?
Was I the luckiest bride when he called me a slut, multiple times, for not approving a coitus with him?
Was I the luckiest bride when I waited ’til dawn only to find out that he was in a hotel with another woman?
Was I the luckiest bride to receive a slap because for having a breakdown when he cheated?
Was I the luckiest bride when he told me that I would never find someone like him because I’m worthless?
Was I the luckiest bride that I couldn’t leave him for the sake of our children?
And was I the luckiest bride to be called selfish when I finally stood up for myself and leave my husband?

I was not, wasn’t I?
I was claiming to be the luckiest bride for years only to find out
that I was actually the most hapless bride

 

In the Name of God
He lied to me because when
I took him to be my husband,
He made me believe that we are destined
To have and to hold
from that day forward,
I thought we reached our dreams together
Then I realized, only he reached his dream
That for better or for worse
I was only watching him
And for richer or for poorer,
He was the only one getting richer
in sickness and in health
Oh, how sick I became when I was his
For him to love and to cherish me
were only born from my fantasy, so hello reality
‘Til death do us part

13453778_1375993915749475_740245356_n

cropped-image.jpgPhotos taken in New York and St. Augustine Church, Intramuros, Manila
Read more from this blog: Unsent Letters to Papa, Sweet Nothings, KISMET,Β Kanser ng Pangarap
16 thoughts on “The Luckiest Bride

    1. Thank you so much for the comment. You were actually the first to comment, like and follow this blog so we’re really grateful. Just to clarify, the things that I wrote never happened to my own life but I know that it has and had been happening to someone else already. So maybe you could say that the post represents all the abused wives in the world. And yeah, I also hope that those women will feel better ☺️ Also, feel free to stalk this blog. I don’t mind πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

  1. The photos were beautifully taken. But the content of this blog is saddening. I think you are still the luckiest bride because you have found the courage to stand up again and became strong. Hope things will get better for you.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for appreciating my photos. I didn’t use professional camera on this one so I really felt flattered that you still think that they’re beautiful. Hihi! But the bride on the post was not really me. Actually, most of the content of our blog are fiction. And I also really hope that the women who were experiencing this kind of pain would be strong to face their challenges in life too. πŸ‘ŒπŸ»

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Just like what I said to the previous commenters, the character on the post was not me. It’s just a work of fiction that aims to raise awareness of abuses experienced by wives all over the world. But thank you so much for the comment. This is actually the first post wherein people actually commented on our blog so it means a lot. 😭 so, please feel free to follow and stalk our blog anytime you like. Haha! πŸ˜‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

